Skip to page content
Bookmark and Share

Congressional Notifications

June 09, 2010 — National Emergency Grant for Arkansas

Dear Arkansas Delegation:

Here is information about an $816,730 National Emergency Grant (NEG) increment to continue clean-up and recovery efforts in the wake of the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that struck Arkansas in October, 2009. This funding will be awarded to the Arkansas Department of Workforce Services.

Description of Arkansas NEG

  • On Dec. 31, 2009, a grant was approved for up to $1,238,564, with $412,885 released initially, to create about 79 temporary jobs for eligible dislocated workers. This funding represents a second increment of the original grant, bringing total funding to date for this project to $1,229,615.
  • The geographic areas covered by this funding are: The counties of Boone, Carroll, Cleburne, Dallas, Franklin, Fulton, Izard, Jackson, Logan, Marion, Newton, Scott, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, White and Woodruff
  • Project Operators: Northwest Arkansas Economic Development District, Inc., Western Arkansas Planning and Development District, Inc., and White River Planning and Development District

Let us know if you need more information. Feel free to contact Stephanie Carlo with the Arkansas Department of Workforce Services at (501) 683-4707, if you have specific questions about how the funds will be distributed.