
U.S. Department of Labor Benefits Review Board 
P.O. Box 37601 
Washington, DC 20013-7601 

 

 

 

      BRB No. 15-0027 

 

ROBERT BERGARA 

 

  Claimant-Respondent 

   

 v. 

 

SUDERMAN CONTRACTING 

STEVEDORES 

 

 and 

 

SIGNAL MUTUAL INDEMNITY 

ASSOCIATION, LIMITED 

 

  Employer/Carrier- 

  Petitioners 

   

DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF WORKERS’ 

COMPENSATION PROGRAMS, UNITED 

STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 

 

  Respondent 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DATE ISSUED: Sept. 30, 2015 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DECISION and ORDER 

Appeal of the Compensation Order Granting Attorney’s Fees of David 

Widener, District Director, United States Department of Labor. 

 

V. William Farrington, Jr. (Farrington & Thomas, L.L.C.), New Orleans, 

Louisiana, for claimant. 

 

Lawrence P. Postol (Seyfarth Shaw LLP), Washington, D.C., for 

employer/carrier. 

 

MacKenzie Fillow (M. Patricia Smith, Solicitor of Labor; Rae Ellen James, 

Associate Solicitor; Mark A. Reinhalter, Counsel for Longshore), 

Washington, D.C., for the Director, Office of Workers’ Compensation 

Programs, United States Department of Labor. 

 

Before: HALL, Chief Administrative Appeals Judge, BOGGS and 
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BUZZARD, Administrative Appeals Judges. 

HALL, Chief Administrative Appeals Judge: 

 

Employer appeals the Compensation Order Granting Attorney’s Fees (Case No. 

08-300336) of District Director David Widener rendered on a claim filed pursuant to the 

provisions of the Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, as amended, 33 

U.S.C. §901 et seq. (the Act).  The fee award of the district director must be affirmed 

unless it is shown to be arbitrary, capricious, based on an abuse of discretion, or not in 

accordance with law.  See Sans v. Todd Shipyard Corp., 19 BRBS 24 (1986); Roach v. 

New York Protective Covering Co., 16 BRBS 114 (1984). 

 

Claimant filed a claim for a work-related hearing loss, and the district director 

notified employer of the claim on February 21, 2014.  On March 20, 2014, employer paid 

claimant for a one percent binaural impairment, which amounted to two weeks of 

disability benefits, based on claimant’s average weekly wage of $315.11 and his 

corresponding compensation rate of $210.07, for a total payment of $420.14.  Employer 

filed both a Payment Without Award form and a Notice of Final Payment form on that 

date.  On April 3, 2014, the district director scheduled an informal conference for May 2.  

On April 7, 2014, claimant’s counsel filed a petition for an attorney’s fee; the cover letter 

stated that claimant is owed $8,360.79 for the remaining weeks of disability for a 20.9 

percent binaural impairment.
1
  On May 2, the informal conference was held.  The 

memorandum of the conference indicates that claimant established a prima facie case for 

a work-related hearing loss, and there was no rebuttal of the prima facie case.  33 U.S.C. 

§920(a).  It also indicates that the audiogram demonstrated a 20.9 percent binaural 

impairment, which entitles claimant to 41.8 weeks of compensation, totaling $8,780.93, 

but that $420.14 has been paid.  The district director recommended employer pay the 

remaining amount of compensation and authorize the recommended hearing aids.  On 

May 8, 2014, employer sent the district director a letter stating it was accepting the 

recommendation.  It also noted that it had no objection to counsel’s fee being taken out of 

claimant’s benefits.  Employer paid claimant the remaining benefits on May 15. 

 

Claimant’s counsel re-submitted his fee petition to the district director, stating his 

request that the fee be paid by employer.  Employer responded, asserting that it had paid 

claimant some compensation within 30 days of receiving notice of the claim, and it did 

not reject the district director’s recommendation following the informal conference.  

Therefore, employer asserted it is not liable for an attorney’s fee under either Section 

28(a) or 28(b), 33 U.S.C. §928(a), (b). 

 

The district director issued an order awarding counsel a fee on October 10, 2014.  

                                              
1
 Counsel requested a fee of $2,000.  He also requested that the fee be taken out of 

claimant’s future compensation benefits. 
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The district director set forth the law, 33 U.S.C. §928(a), (b); 20 C.F.R. §§702.132-

702.135, and found that employer is liable for claimant’s attorney’s fee under Section 

28(a) because the two weeks of compensation, while paid within the 30-day period 

following employer’s receipt of the notice of the claim, was no more than a token attempt 

to avoid paying an attorney’s fee.  He found that the LS-208 Notice of Final Payment 

form had the correct 20.9 percent impairment rating on it, and there was no basis for 

employer’s payment of benefits for a one percent impairment.  However, the district 

director also found that employer is not liable for any fee generated before the district 

director’s notice of the claim to employer, dated February 21, 2014, and he denied a fee 

for services before that date.  Therefore, the district director held employer liable for a fee 

of $341.25, plus $300 in expenses.   

 

Employer appeals the fee award, first contending it cannot be held liable for any 

fee under Section 28(a), as it paid some compensation within 30 days of the notice of the 

claim.  Employer relies on the decision in Lincoln v. Director, OWCP, 744 F.3d 911, 48 

BRBS 17(CRT) (4th Cir. 2014), cert. denied, 135 S.Ct. 356 (2014), to support its 

argument.  Claimant responds to the appeal, urging affirmance and averring that 

employer’s initial payment was merely a token to avoid fee liability and was not 

“compensation.”  The Director, Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs (the 

Director), also responds to employer’s appeal.  The Director asserts that the question of 

whether a payment is “compensation” or merely a sham payment is a question of fact to 

be determined by the district director and that the district director acted within his 

discretion in finding the payment here was not compensation because he found no 

evidence to support liability for only a one percent impairment.  Employer replies, 

asserting that the Director’s position is untenable because it precludes the possibility that 

claimant’s impairment could have been one percent if additional audiograms had been 

administered.  Further, employer argues that the Director’s position, effectively, requires 

that full payment be made in order to gain “safe harbor” from fee liability. 

 

Section 28(a) of the Act provides: 

 

If the employer or carrier declines to pay any compensation on or before the 

thirtieth day after receiving written notice of a claim for compensation 

having been filed from the deputy commissioner, on the ground that there is 

no liability for compensation within the provisions of this chapter and the 

person seeking benefits shall thereafter have utilized the services of an 

attorney at law in the successful prosecution of his claim, there shall be 

awarded, in addition to the award of compensation, in a compensation 

order, a reasonable attorney’s fee. . . . 

 

33 U.S.C. §928(a) (emphasis added).  A prerequisite for an employer’s liability under 

Section 28(a) is that it refused to pay “any compensation” within 30 days of its receipt of 
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the notice of the claim from the district director.  Andrepont v. Murphy Exploration & 

Prod. Co., 566 F.3d 415, 43 BRBS 27(CRT) (5th Cir. 2009); Day v. James Marine, Inc., 

518 F.3d 411, 42 BRBS 15(CRT) (6th Cir. 2008); Obadiaru v. ITT Corp., 45 BRBS 17 

(2011).  In a case in which an employer paid benefits for a .5 percent binaural impairment 

within the 30-day period, equating to one week of compensation, the United States Court 

of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit affirmed the finding that the employer was not liable for 

the claimant’s attorney’s fee under Section 28(a).  Lincoln, 744 F.3d 911, 48 BRBS 

17(CRT).  Although this case arises within the jurisdiction of the United States Court of 

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, Lincoln is persuasive because the Fifth Circuit has 

construed the statute in a manner similar to the Fourth Circuit.  Compare Virginia Int’l 

Terminals, Inc. v. Edwards, 398 F.3d 313, 39 BRBS 1(CRT) (4th Cir. 2005), cert. denied, 

546 U.S. 960 (2005), with Pool Co. v. Cooper, 274 F.3d 173, 35 BRBS 109(CRT) (5th 

Cir. 2001).  Thus, for the reasons that follow, we reverse the district director’s award of 

an attorney’s fee payable by employer pursuant to Section 28(a) in this case. 

 

 In Lincoln, the claimant filed a claim for a work-related hearing loss.  The 

employer responded with a notice of controversion asking for more information, and the 

claimant forwarded his audiogram to the employer.
2
  After the district director notified 

the employer of the claimant’s claim, the employer paid, within 30 days, benefits of just 

over $1,250, equating to payment for a .5 percent binaural hearing loss and one week of 

compensation at the maximum compensation rate.  The employer also requested the 

claimant undergo another hearing test, and that second test revealed a 10 percent binaural 

loss.  After negotiations, the district director entered a settlement compensation order, as 

the parties agreed the claimant sustained a 10 percent binaural impairment, and the 

employer paid the claimant benefits.   

 

The claimant’s attorney sought an employer-paid fee for his services and 

contended he was entitled to such under Section 28(a) because the employer did not pay 

all the compensation that was due within the 30-day period.  The Fourth Circuit rejected 

the view that “any compensation” under Section 28(a) means “all compensation,” stating 

that the text encompasses partial payment as the most natural reading of the phrase and 

the surrounding text supports that interpretation.  Therefore, the court concluded that an 

employer’s refusal to pay compensation within the 30-day period must be absolute for it 

to face possible fee liability under Section 28(a).  Lincoln, 744 F.3d at 914-915, 48 BRBS 

at 18-19(CRT).  The Fourth Circuit reasoned that, because the extent of a claimant’s 

                                              
2
 There appears to have been no specific percentage of impairment claimed.  A 

claim for hearing loss benefits, like any other claim, need not specify the degree of 

impairment claimed.  Avondale Industries, Inc. v. Alario, 355 F.3d 848, 37 BRBS 

116(CRT) (5th Cir. 2003). 
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injury can fluctuate, there may be no certainty within the 30-day period as to the full 

amount of compensation due him.  Consequently, if an employer: 

 

admits liability for the claim by paying some compensation to the claimant 

for a work-related injury and only contests the total amount of the benefits, 

it is sheltered from fee liability under §928(a). 

 

Id., 744 F.3d at 915, 48 BRBS at 19(CRT) (citing Andrepont, 566 F.3d at 418-419, 43 

BRBS at 29(CRT)).  In determining whether “any” compensation has been paid, the court 

held that an amount that is tied to the alleged injury qualifies as compensation.  The 

Lincoln court held that because the payment to the claimant was based on his average 

weekly wage, it was “directly tied” to his injury and was “compensation.”  Accordingly, 

it affirmed the denial of an employer-paid fee under Section 28(a).  Lincoln, 744 F.3d at 

916, 48 BRBS at 20(CRT). 

 

 Claimant relies on Green v. Ceres Marine Terminals, Inc., 43 BRBS 173 (2010), 

rev’d on other grounds, 656 F.3d 235, 45 BRBS 45(CRT) (4th Cir. 2011), in arguing that 

the $420 payment here was not compensation.  However, the Lincoln court explained 

how Green was distinguishable from the case before it.  In Green, the employer paid the 

claimant $1 after receiving the notice of the hearing loss claim from the district director.  

The administrative law judge found, and the Board affirmed, that amount was merely an 

attempt to avoid fee liability as opposed to an actual payment of “any compensation.”  

Green, 43 BRBS at 177.  The Lincoln court stated that Green “differs dramatically” as 

the payment therein was “untethered to the underlying claim” and was not 

“compensation.”  Lincoln, 744 F.3d at 916, 48 BRBS at 19-20(CRT).  In comparison to 

Green, the Fourth Circuit discussed Andrepont, 566 F.3d 415, 43 BRBS 27(CRT) 

(continued payment of permanent partial disability benefits; disputed extent of disability), 

and Pittsburgh & Conneaut Dock Co. v. Director, OWCP, 473 F.3d 253, 40 BRBS 

73(CRT) (6th Cir. 2007) (paid temporary total disability benefits; disputed permanent 

benefits), wherein the courts held that “partial” payments were “compensation” within 

the meaning of Section 28(a), which precluded the employers from being held liable for 

an attorney’s fee under Section 28(a).  Lincoln, 744 F.3d at 916, 48 BRBS at 19-

20(CRT).  

 

Although he agrees with the basic holding in Lincoln that payment of any/some 

compensation is sufficient to preclude an employer’s liability for a fee under Section 

28(a), Dir. Br. at 3 n.2, the Director argues that, nevertheless, the district director retains 

the discretion to determine from the facts of the case whether an employer’s payment to a 

claimant constitutes the payment of “any compensation” or is merely a sham payment to 

avoid fee liability, and this finding is to be based on more than just whether the payment 

has a connection to the compensation that might later be awarded. The Director asserts 

that the lack of evidence demonstrating that claimant had only a one percent impairment 
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supports the district director’s finding that employer’s payment was not “compensation.”  

The Director’s argument relies on the fact that the only audiogram of record revealed a 

20.9 percent impairment.  To the extent the Director is suggesting that no other rate of 

impairment was supportable, and that employer should have paid benefits for the full 

20.9 percent in order to avoid liability for a fee under Section 28(a), or that the district 

director could infer in this case that any payment for less than the full amount precludes 

the payment from being “compensation,” we reject the implication.
3
  As stated above, the 

Director agreed that payment of “any compensation” is sufficient to preclude application 

of Section 28(a), and this “any means all” argument has been repeatedly rejected by the 

Fifth Circuit.  Andrepont, 566 F.3d at 418, 43 BRBS at 29(CRT); Cooper, 274 F.3d 173, 

35 BRBS 109(CRT); Savannah Machine & Shipyard Co. v. Director, OWCP, 642 F.2d 

887, 889, 13 BRBS 294, 296 (5th Cir. 1981); see also Lincoln, 744 F.3d at 914-915, 48 

BRBS at 19(CRT); Pittsburgh & Conneaut Dock, 473 F.3d at 264, 40 BRBS at 80(CRT).  

                                              
3
 At the time employer made the payment, it had not yet been determined whether 

claimant would undergo additional audiometric examinations.  On its Notice of Final 

Payment Form, dated March 20, 2104, employer indicated its payment of benefits for a 

one percent impairment and wrote that it was terminating payments because 

“Employee/Representative have not cooperated in allowing employer to investigate 

fac[ts].”  At the informal conference on May 2, 2014, employer requested that it be able 

to “take the claimant’s statement before issuing payment for the balance of the PPD.”  

Memo. of Inf. Conf. (May 2, 2014)  This request was reiterated in a letter to the district 

director on May 8, 2014, in which employer also sought from claimant information 

concerning any prior claims or employment with other maritime employers.  In opposing 

counsel’s fee petition, employer’s claims examiner wrote a letter to the district director 

on July 8, 2014, stating that employer paid only two weeks’ compensation because “we 

had not been provided the opportunity to fully investigate [claimant’s] claim in order to 

determine the extent of the employer/carrier’s liability.  After the informal conference 

was held on May 2, 2014 we had the opportunity to secure [claimant’s statement] to 

complete our investigation and the PPD payments were resumed promptly. . . .” 

Employer’s action in this case in paying benefits for a one percent impairment at the 

appropriate average weekly wage is not inconsistent with Avondale Industries, Inc. v. 

Alario, 355 F.3d 848, 37 BRBS 116(CRT) (5th Cir. 2003).  In this case, the Fifth Circuit 

rejected the employer’s contention that it could not be expected to make a payment of 

“any compensation” within 30 days if it did not have “presumptive evidence” of the 

degree of the claimant’s hearing loss.  The court held that the employer was free to have 

the claimant examined within the 30-day period in order to ascertain a basis for 

compensation payments that would avoid the fee-shifting provision.  Here, employer 

made a payment of compensation while it attempted to investigate the claim. 
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There is nothing legally distinguishable between this case and Lincoln.  In both 

cases, the employers paid, within the 30-day period, a portion of the compensation to 

which the claimants were ultimately entitled.  See Lincoln, 744 F.3d at 916, 48 BRBS at 

19(CRT).  The payments were tied to the disabilities alleged as well as to the claimants’ 

average weekly wages and compensation rates.  Once the Lincoln court determined the 

payment therein was “tethered” to the claimant’s disability, it concluded the payment was 

“compensation.”  No other facts or inferences were needed.  Id., 744 F.3d at 916, 48 

BRBS at 19-20(CRT).  In comparison, where the payment was not tied to the claimant’s 

disability, as in Green, it could be presumed by the fact-finder that the payment was 

made for the sole purpose of avoiding fee liability and was not compensation.  Thus, on 

the facts presented here, we disagree with the Director’s assertion that the district director 

had the discretion to find that employer made a “sham” payment in order to avoid fee 

liability. 

 

 Employer’s payment to claimant in this case was based on claimant’s disability 

and paid at his compensation rate; therefore, it was “tethered” to the claim and constitutes 

“compensation.”  This payment of “any compensation” within the 30-day period 

precludes employer’s liability for an attorney’s fee pursuant to Section 28(a).  Lincoln, 

744 F.3d at 916, 48 BRBS at 18-19(CRT).  That an employer may avoid attorney fee 

liability with a relatively small payment of compensation cannot contravene the plain 

words of Section 28(a).  Andrepont, 566 F.3d at 419, 43 BRBS at 29(CRT) (“[P]olicy 

arguments are . . . best addressed to Congress, not the courts.”).  Accordingly, we reverse 

the district director’s award of an employer-paid attorney’s fee under Section 28(a).  

Lincoln, 744 F.3d at 916, 48 BRBS at 18-19(CRT); Andrepont, 566 F.3d 415, 43 BRBS 

27(CRT); Pittsburgh & Conneaut Dock, 473 F.3d 253, 40 BRBS 73(CRT); Savannah 

Machine, 642 F.2d 887, 13 BRBS 294. 

 

 Although the district director did not address employer’s liability under Section 

28(b), employer correctly asserts it also is not liable under that section because it did not 

reject the district director’s written recommendation.  The Fifth Circuit has strictly 

interpreted Section 28(b), 33 U.S.C. §928(b), and held that the following are prerequisites 

to an employer’s liability under Section 28(b): (1) an informal conference; (2) a written 

recommendation from the district director; (3) the employer’s refusal to accept the 

written recommendation; and (4) the employee’s achieving a greater award than what the 

employer was willing to pay after the written recommendation.  Andrepont, 566 F.3d 

415, 43 BRBS 27(CRT); see also Pittsburgh & Conneaut Dock, 473 F.3d 253, 40 BRBS 

73(CRT); Edwards, 398 F.3d 313, 39 BRBS 1(CRT); Devor v. Dep’t of the Army, 41 

BRBS 77 (2007); Davis v. Eller & Co., 41 BRBS 58 (2007).  If any element is missing, 

an employer cannot be held liable for a fee under Section 28(b).  Andrepont, 566 F.3d 

415, 43 BRBS 27(CRT) (no rejection of the written recommendation); Pittsburgh & 

Conneaut Dock, 473 F.3d 253, 40 BRBS 73(CRT) (no written recommendation 
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addressing same issue as before the administrative law judge); Edwards, 398 F.3d 313, 

39 BRBS 1(CRT) (no informal conference or written recommendation). 

 

In this case, it is undisputed that the district director held an informal conference 

and issued a memorandum recommending that employer pay claimant benefits for a 20.9 

percent binaural impairment and approve the request for hearing aids.  It is also 

undisputed that employer wrote a letter, six days after the informal conference, to the 

district director stating that it accepted the written recommendation and it paid claimant 

benefits accordingly.  Thus, employer did not reject the district director’s 

recommendation.  In light of the absence of a necessary element, employer cannot be 

held liable for a fee under Section 28(b) as a matter of law.  Andrepont, 566 F.3d 415, 43 

BRBS 27(CRT).  

 

Accordingly, the district director’s Compensation Order Granting Attorney’s Fees 

is reversed.
4
  

 

SO ORDERED. 

 

                                              
4
 Claimant’s counsel should file a new fee petition with the district director if he 

wishes to hold claimant liable for an attorney’s fee pursuant to Section 28(c).  33 U.S.C. 

§928(c); 20 C.F.R. §702.132. 
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      ____________________________________ 

      BETTY JEAN HALL, Chief 

      Administrative Appeals Judge 

 

      ____________________________________ 

 I concur:    JUDITH S. BOGGS 

      Administrative Appeals Judge 

 

 

 BUZZARD, Administrative Appeals Judge:  

 

 I respectfully dissent from the majority’s holding that the district director erred in 

finding employer liable for the payment of claimant’s attorney’s fee pursuant to Section 

28(a) of the Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act (the Act).  33 U.S.C. 

§928(a).  I agree with the Director, Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs (the 

Director), that the district director permissibly determined that employer’s payment to 

claimant was not “compensation,” and therefore was insufficient for employer to avoid 

liability for an attorney’s fee in this case. 

 

 Section 28(a) of the Act requires an employer to pay a claimant’s attorney’s fee if 

the employer “declines to pay any compensation” within 30 days of receiving notice of 

the claim from the district director, and the claimant thereafter “utilize[s] the services of 

an attorney at law in the successful prosecution of his claim.”  33 U.S.C. §928(a).  

“Compensation” is defined in the Act as “the money allowance payable to an employee,” 

such that Section 28(a) can properly be read as imposing liability for an attorney’s fee on 

an employer that “declines to pay any [money allowance payable to an employee]” 

within 30 days of receiving notice of the claim.  33 U.S.C. §§902(12), 928(a). 

 

 This section has been interpreted by the Fifth Circuit, under whose jurisdiction this 

case arises, as prohibiting fee-shifting “if the employer admits to liability for the injury 

and tenders any compensation” within the 30-day period set forth in Section 28(a).  

Andrepont v. Murphy Exploration & Prod. Co., 566 F.3d 415, 418-19, 43 BRBS 27, 

29(CRT) (5th Cir. 2009) (emphasis added); Savannah Mach. & Shipyard Co. v. Director, 

OWCP, 642 F.2d 887, 889, 13 BRBS 294, 296 (5th Cir. 1981) (“Since [employer] 

tendered partial compensation, we agree that Section 28(a) is inapplicable to the situation 

at hand.”); see also Lincoln v. Director, OWCP, 744 F.3d 911, 915, 48 BRBS 17, 

19(CRT) (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 135 S.Ct. 356 (2014) (“[I]f [employer] admits liability 

for the claim by paying some compensation to the claimant for a work-related injury and 

only contests the total amount of the benefits, it is sheltered from fee liability under 

§928(a).”) (emphasis added). 
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 However, even when an employer pays some amount of money to a claimant 

within 30 days of receiving notice of the claim, the Board has held that certain payments 

do not constitute “compensation within the meaning of Section 28(a) of the Act.”  Green 

v. Ceres Marine Terminals, Inc., 43 BRBS 173, 177 (2010), rev’d on other grounds, 656 

F.3d 235, 45 BRBS 45(CRT) (4th Cir. 2011).  In Green, the Board “affirm[ed] the 

administrative law judge’s finding that an employer’s payment of $1 does not preclude 

the applicability of Section 28(a), as the administrative law judge rationally found that 

employer’s payment of $1 was merely an attempt to avoid fee liability rather than the 

payment of compensation for claimant’s injury.”  Id.  

 

 In the present case, claimant underwent audiometric testing on October 18, 2013, 

revealing a 20.9 percent binaural impairment.  Compensation Order at 3 (October 10, 

2014); Letter from Heights Audiology & Hearing Aids (December 6, 2013); Audiology 

Report from Heights Audiology & Hearing Aids (October 18, 2013).  Thereafter, on 

January 3, 2014, claimant filed a claim for benefits based on his assessed 20.9 percent 

hearing loss.  Compensation Order at 2.  On February 21, 2014, the district director 

served employer with notice of the claim, and three days later, claimant’s counsel 

provided copies of claimant’s audiogram, showing a 20.9 percent binaural hearing loss, 

to the Department of Labor (the Department) claims examiner, and also provided copies 

of those documents to employer.  Letter from Claimant’s Counsel (February 24, 2014). 

 

 According to employer’s LS-208 form, titled Notice of Final Payment or 

Suspension of Compensation, employer paid claimant $420.14, which represented a two-

week payment of benefits based on employer’s unsubstantiated assessment that claimant 

suffered a 1 percent hearing impairment.  Form LS-208 (March 20, 2014); Compensation 

Order at 3.  That same form also acknowledged employer’s awareness that claimant 

actually suffered a 20.9 percent binaural hearing impairment, but that employer was 

ceasing to make any additional payments to claimant, because claimant had not 

“cooperated in allowing employer to investigate fac[sic].”  Id. 

 

 In this case, there is a significant difference in benefit levels between claimant’s 

medically-supported impairment of 20.9 percent, and employer’s arbitrary assessment 

that claimant suffered a 1 percent impairment.  A 20.9 percent binaural impairment 

would have entitled claimant to 41.8 weeks of compensation, whereas employer’s 

unsubstantiated assertion that claimant suffered a 1 percent binaural impairment would 

have entitled claimant to only 2 weeks of compensation.  33 U.S.C. §908(c)(13)(B), (19); 

Compensation Order at 3.  Notably, the impairment level of 1 percent appears to have 

been chosen by employer at-random, despite its knowledge that claimant’s medical 

evidence reflected that he suffered a more severe 20.9 percent hearing impairment.  Id.; 

Letter from Employer’s Counsel to the Claims Examiner (July 31, 2014) (“Employer’s 

initial payment of two weeks compensation [at the one percent permanent partial 

disability rate] . . . fully satisfies the requirements of [S]ection 28(a) of the Act.”). 
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 Based on these facts, the district director relied on the Board’s holding in Green to 

find that “There is no basis for a 2 week payment given that the filing audiogram showed 

a 20.9 [percent] binaural hearing loss which would entitle claimant to 41.8 weeks of 

compensation.  Therefore, it appears that the $420.14 payment was nothing more than a 

‘token’ payment in an attempt to avoid paying attorney fees.”  Compensation Order at 3 

(citing Green, 43 BRBS 173).  The district director then concluded that “I don’t find this 

‘token payment’ to be a true good faith payment of compensation sufficient to preclude 

the employer’s liability for payment of fees.”  Id. 

 

 On appeal, employer argues that its payment to claimant, based on a 1 percent 

impairment, constitutes “compensation” under Section 28(a), despite the fact that it has 

no connection whatsoever to the medical evidence showing that claimant suffered a 20.9 

percent disability.  The majority, finding no distinction between this case and Lincoln, 

agrees with employer that the district director is precluded from holding employer liable 

for an attorney’s fee because employer’s payment to claimant, regardless of the amount 

or its connection to claimant’s disability, is sufficient to constitute “compensation.”  

Majority Opinion at 7.  In reaching its conclusion, the majority interprets the Fourth 

Circuit’s holding in Lincoln as relieving an employer of liability for attorneys’ fees if “the 

payment to the claimant was based on his average weekly wage, [and thus] was ‘directly 

tied’ to his injury and was ‘compensation.’”  Majority Opinion at 5 (quoting Lincoln, 744 

F.3d at 916, 48 BRBS at 20(CRT)).   

 

 To the contrary, the determinative factor for the Fourth Circuit in Lincoln was not 

that the payment was based on claimant’s average weekly wage, but rather that the 

employer “based its calculation of the . . . payment on [claimant’s] alleged disability.”  

Lincoln, 744 F.3d at 916, 48 BRBS at 20(CRT) (emphasis added).  This difference is 

significant in that the majority’s interpretation of Lincoln suggests that the Fourth Circuit 

would have been satisfied with any payment to a claimant, as long as it was based on a 

percentage of the claimant’s wages, without any regard to the claimant’s actual injury or 

disability.  However, a more accurate interpretation of the Fourth Circuit’s holding is that 

to be considered “compensation” under Section 28(a), an employer’s payment must be 

based on the claimant’s “alleged disability.”  Id.  Providing payments to a claimant based 

on his alleged disability “tethers” those payments “to the underlying claim” in a way that 

a payment based loosely as a percentage of a claimant’s wages, unconnected to the 

claimant’s “alleged disability,” would not.  Id. 

 

 This distinction is also significant in that, under the facts of the present case, 

employer was presented with medical evidence showing that claimant had been 

diagnosed with a 20.9 percent hearing impairment.  Form LS-208 (March 20, 2014); 

Compensation Order at 3; Letter from Heights Audiology & Hearing Aids (December 6, 

2013); Audiology Report from Heights Audiology & Hearing Aids (October 18, 2013).  
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Rather than basing its payment of “compensation” on the medical evidence relating to 

claimant’s alleged disability, employer chose to ignore that evidence and arbitrarily 

selected a much lower impairment rating of 1 percent.  Thus, in the present case, 

employer based its payment to claimant, not on any medical evidence of record, but 

instead on its own belief that Section 28(a) permits it to pay claimant the least amount of 

money possible to avoid liability for attorneys’ fees, regardless of whether that payment 

is tied in any way to the extent of claimant’s disability.  Letter from Employer’s Counsel 

to the Claims Examiner (July 31, 2014) (“Employer’s initial payment of two weeks 

compensation [at the one percent permanent partial disability rate]…fully satisfies the 

requirements of [S]ection 28(a) of the Act.”). 

 

 Fifth Circuit case law also supports my interpretation of the Fourth Circuit’s 

holding in Lincoln – that to qualify as “compensation” under Section 28(a), an 

employer’s payment to a claimant during the 30-day window cannot be arbitrary, but 

instead must be based on claimant’s “alleged disability,” according to the medical 

evidence of record.  Lincoln, 744 F.3d at 916, 48 BRBS at 20(CRT).  As the majority 

opinion indicates, in Avondale Industries, Inc. v. Alario, 355 F.3d 848, 37 BRBS 

116(CRT) (5th Cir. 2003), the Fifth Circuit rejected an employer’s contention that it 

could not have been expected to make a payment of “any compensation” to a claimant 

within 30 days under Section 28(a) because the claimant had not yet provided it with 

evidence of the degree of his hearing loss.  Majority Opinion at 6 n.3.  The Fifth Circuit 

went on to state that “the employer is free to schedule the claimant for a hearing 

evaluation by a physician of the employer’s choosing to determine the amount, if any, of 

hearing loss…This would allow [employer] to ascertain the proper amount of payment 

and begin paying in time to avoid the fee-shifting provision.”  Id., 355 F.3d at 852-853, 

37 BRBS at 119(CRT) (emphasis added).  If anything, this guidance from the Fifth 

Circuit suggests not only that the “compensation” required under Section 28(a) must be 

based on actual medical evidence pertaining to the claimant’s disability, but also that an 

employer itself bears responsibility for seeking information on which to base its payment 

to a claimant. 

 

 Moreover, neither the Fourth Circuit case in Lincoln, nor the Fifth Circuit cases 

cited by the majority, establish a bright-line rule that one or two weeks’ worth of benefit 

payments always constitutes “compensation” under Section 28(a), or otherwise diminish 

the role of the district director in determining whether a payment is “compensation” for a 

claimant’s injury or “merely an attempt to avoid fee liability.”  Green, 43 BRBS at 177; 

see Lincoln, 744 F.3d 911, 48 BRBS 17(CRT); Andrepont, 566 F.3d 415, 43 BRBS 

27(CRT); Pool Co. v. Cooper, 274 F.3d 173, 35 BRBS 109(CRT) (5th Cir. 2001); 

Savannah Machine & Shipyard Co., 642 F.2d 887, 13 BRBS 294; see also Alario, 355 

F.3d 848, 37 BRBS 116(CRT). 
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 In Lincoln, the Fourth Circuit explicitly declined to overturn the Board’s decision 

in Green, preserving the Board’s holding that certain payments made to claimants are not 

“compensation,” and thus do not shield employers from liability for attorneys’ fees under 

Section 28(a).  Lincoln, 744 F.3d at 916, 48 BRBS at 20(CRT).  As the Director points 

out, under Lincoln, “the district director retains the discretion to determine whether the 

payment of monies to a claimant constitutes the payment of ‘any compensation’ or is 

merely a sham intended to avoid attorney fee liability.  This finding must necessarily be 

based on a review of the entire factual circumstances of a case….”  Dir. Resp. Br. at 3 

n.2.  Thus, I would hold that the question of whether an employer has paid a claimant 

“compensation” under Section 28(a) is a determination within the discretion of the 

district director based on the facts of the particular case.  See generally Healy Tibbits 

Builders, Inc. v. Cabral, 201 F.3d 1090, 33 BRBS 209(CRT) (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 531 

U.S. 956 (2000) (matters within the sole discretion of the district director, such as a fee 

award, are reviewed for abuse of discretion and compliance with law).  

 

 In this case, I would affirm the district director’s determination that employer’s 

payment to claimant, based on a 1 percent disability, was not “compensation” under 

Section 28(a), as it was arbitrarily chosen by employer and wholly disconnected from the 

medical evidence establishing that claimant suffered a more severe disability of 20.9 

percent.  Thus, employer’s payment was not based on claimant’s “alleged disability” and 

was therefore “untethered to the underlying claim.”  Lincoln, 744 F.3d at 916, 48 BRBS 

at 20(CRT).  Consequently, I would affirm the district director’s award of an attorney’s 

fee to claimant, payable by employer, pursuant to Section 28(a) of the Act. 

 

 

       _________________________________ 

       GREG J. BUZZARD 

       Administrative Appeals Judge 


