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DECISION and ORDER

Appeal of the Compensation Order Award of Attorney’s Fee of Charles D.
Lee, District Director, United States Department of Labor.

Gregory E. Camden (Montagna Klein Camden LLP), Norfolk, Virginia, for
claimant.

Lawrence P. Postol (Seyfarth Shaw LLP), Washington, D.C., for self-
insured employer.

Before: DOLDER, Chief Administrative Appeals Judge, SMITH and
BOGGS, Administrative Appeals Judges.

PER CURIAM:

Claimant appeals the Compensation Order Award of Attorney’s Fee (Case No. 06-
211285) of District Director Charles D. Lee rendered on a claim filed pursuant to the
provisions of the Longshore and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, as amended, 33
U.S.C. 8901 et seq. (the Act). We must affirm the fee award of the district director unless
it is shown to be arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion, or not in accordance with
law. See Roach v. New York Protective Covering Co., 16 BRBS 114 (1984).

Claimant filed a claim for a work-related binaural hearing loss on May 24, 2011.
On May 26, 2011, employer filed its First Notice of Injury and Notice of Controversion
forms. By cover letter dated June 14, 2011, the district director served employer with
formal notice of claimant’s claim. On July 8, 2011, employer filed Form LS-208
indicating it had voluntarily paid claimant permanent partial disability benefits for a 0.5
percent binaural hearing loss in the amount of $1,256.84, based on the maximum



compensation rate. Employer made no other payments and did not authorize medical
treatment until an Order was entered on October 4, 2011, approving the parties’ Section
8(i) settlement for $23,879.96 in compensation for a 10 percent binaural hearing loss and
$4,000 for medical benefits. 33 U.S.C. 8908(i). On August 18, 2011, claimant’s counsel
filed a fee petition with the district director requesting $3,460, representing 11.26 hours
of attorney services at an hourly rate of $350. Employer objected to the fee petition
contending it was not liable for any attorney’s fees because it paid compensation within
30 days, and that, if it were found liable, counsel’s hourly rate and hours requested were
excessive.

The district director found that employer’s payment to claimant of $1,256.94 for a
0.5 percent impairment constituted “actual compensation,” as opposed to a nominal
payment. The district director relied on the fact that the amount paid was based on the
maximum compensation rate under the Act. Therefore, as employer paid claimant
compensation within the 30-day period after it received notice of the claim from the
district director, employer is not liable for claimant’s attorney’s fee pursuant to Section
28(a). Claimant appeals the denial of an attorney’s fee, and employer responds urging
affirmance. Claimant filed a reply brief.

Section 28(a) of the Act states:

If the employer or carrier declines to pay any compensation on or before the
thirtieth day after receiving written notice of a claim for compensation
having been filed from the [district director], on the ground that there is no
liability for compensation within the provisions of this Act, and the person
seeking benefits shall thereafter have utilized the services of an attorney at
law in the successful prosecution of his claim, there shall be awarded, in
addition to the award of compensation, in a compensation order, a
reasonable attorney’s fee against the employer or carrier. . . .

33 U.S.C. §8928(a)(emphasis added). Thus, Section 28(a) applies to shift fee liability to
employer when it declines to pay any benefits within 30 days of receiving notice of the
claim from the district director. Virginia Int’l Terminals, Inc. v. Edwards, 398 F.3d 313,
39 BRBS 1(CRT) (4" Cir.), cert. denied, 546 U.S. 960 (2005).

In this case, despite having filed a notice of controversion before receiving formal
notice of the claim, employer voluntarily paid claimant benefits for a 0.5 percent binaural
hearing loss based on the maximum compensation rate within 30 days after receiving
notice of the claim from the district director. The district director acted within his

See Green v. Ceres Marine Terminals, Inc., 43 BRBS 173 (2010), rev’d on other
grounds, 656 F.3d 235, 45 BRBS 67(CRT) (4™ Cir. 2011) (the employer paid $1 within
the 30-day period but that did not represent payment of compensation).
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discretion in finding this amount constituted a payment of actual compensation as
compared to the nominal $1.00 paid in Green v. Ceres Marine Terminals, Inc., 43 BRBS
173 (2010), rev’d on other grounds, 656 F.3d 235, 45 BRBS 67(CRT) (4™ Cir. 2011).
We cannot say that he reached an unreasonable result.? Pursuant to the plain language of
Section 28(a), it is employer’s payment or non-payment of “any compensation” in the 30
days after its receipt of the claim on which employer’s liability for a fee pursuant to
Section 28(a) is predicated. See Newport News Shipbuilding & Dry Dock Co. v.
Director, OWCP [Moody], 474 F.3d 109, 40 BRBS 69(CRT) (4" Cir. 2006); Edwards,
398 F.3d 313, 39 BRBS 1(CRT). As the district director’s finding that employer paid
claimant compensation within the 30-day period after its receipt of the claim is based on
a rational application of law, and is not arbitrary or capricious, we affirm his denial of an
employer-paid attorney’s fee under Section 28(a).?

Accordingly, the district director’s Compensation Order is affirmed.

SO ORDERED.

NANCY S. DOLDER, Chief
Administrative Appeals Judge

ROY P. SMITH
Administrative Appeals Judge

JUDITH S. BOGGS
Administrative Appeals Judge

®The district director did not err in considering the Board’s unpublished decision
in Meszaros v. Federal Marine Terminals, Inc., BRB No. 10-0589 (June 9, 2011), which
Is factually similar to this case. In Meszaros, the Board affirmed the administrative law
judge’s finding that one payment to claimant based on claimant’s actual compensation
rate constituted the payment of “any compensation” under Section 28(a).

SEmployer cannot be held liable for claimant’s attorney’s fee under Section 28(b)
as no informal conference was held. 33 U.S.C. §928(b).
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