Skip to page content
United States Department of Labor
Bookmark and Share

City of Columbia
A Resolution

WHEREAS, for the past 100 years, the United States Department of Labor has fostered, promoted, and developed the welfare of wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of this country; and

WHEREAS, the United States Department of Labor has continually sought to make the American workplace safer, healthier and fairer for everyone; and

WHEREAS, working families in the City of Columbia, across the country, and across the world have benefited from the United States Department of Labor's efforts to assure work-related benefits and rights, including the right to be paid fairly for every hour labored; and

WHEREAS, the United States Department of Labor has evolved to meet the changing needs of a changing workforce by partnering with employers, community organizations and institutions of higher learning to improve job training, provide lifelong learning opportunities and advance efforts for profitable employment; and

WHEREAS, the impact of the United States Department of Labor has reached outside the confines of the workplace, touching people's lives at all stages, by allowing parents to take leave and tend to loved ones; training veterans and young people for the careers of a lifetime; and guaranteeing the pensions of retired workers; and

WHEREAS, the inestimable value of the services provided by the United States Department of Labor will remain of paramount importance to the well-being of all Americans and that it will address tomorrow's conditions, and meet the needs of future workers with the same insight, foresight and passion it has shown for the past century;

BE IT RESOLVED, That I. Mayor Steve Benjamin. ask that all residents of this communityity join me in celebrating Mondoy. March 4. 2013, as Ihe Centennial Anniversary of the United Stlates Department of Labor.

Stephen K. Benjamin, Mayor
Sam Davis, District I, Council Member
Tameika Issac Devine, At-Large Council Member
Leona Plaugh, District IV, Council Member
Brian DeQuincey Newman, District II, Council Member
Cameron Runyan, At-Large Council Member
Moe Baddourah, District III, Council Member