Wage and Hour Division (WHD)
U.S. Department of Labor
US Labor Department enforcement initiative combats labor violations in Colorado’s child care industry, recovers nearly $400,000 in back wages for workers
Investigations in Denver, Fort Collins and Colorado Springs to continue through 2013
DENVER -- An ongoing enforcement initiative conducted by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division focused on the child care industry in Colorado has uncovered significant violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act’s minimum wage, overtime and record-keeping provisions.
Under this initiative in 2012, the division’s Denver District Office conducted 103 investigations of child care service providers in Denver, Fort Collins and Colorado Springs, including franchises, employers with multiple locations and facilities operating under a state license. These investigations have resulted in the recovery of more than $393,000 in minimum and overtime wages for 867 employees.
Common violations by employers uncovered during investigations include not paying employees for all hours worked, such as time spent attending mandatory training courses or work performed prior to or beyond scheduled shift periods; improperly classifying FLSA-covered employees as exempt from receiving overtime compensation; making illegal deductions from employees’ wages that result in earnings falling below the federal minimum wage; paying “straight time” rates for all hours worked, rather than time and one-half for hours worked over 40 in a week; and failing to maintain accurate records of employees’ work hours and wages.
“The goal of this ongoing initiative is to remedy systemic labor violations, ensure compliance among employers previously found in violation of the FLSA and promote sustained compliance throughout the child care industry,” said Cynthia Watson, the Wage and Hour Division’s regional administrator in the Southwest. “We will inform employers of their responsibilities, engage them in dialogue about compliance problems and seek their commitments to ensure lasting compliance with the FLSA.”
The division provides compliance assistance and education to Colorado employers and industry associations – such as the Early Childhood Association of Colorado and the Colorado Association of Family Child Care – regarding the requirements of the FLSA.
Child care is a rapidly expanding industry that employs many low-wage workers who are often vulnerable to disparate treatment and labor violations. In addition to Colorado, the Wage and Hour Division is conducting similar enforcement initiatives in Arkansas, Louisiana, Montana, New Mexico, Texas, North Dakota and South Dakota. The Colorado initiative will continue through 2013.
For information about federal wage laws, call the Wage and Hour Division’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243) or its Denver office at 504-589-6171. Information also is available at http://www.dol.gov/whd.
U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at www.dol.gov. The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit www.dol.gov/compliance.