Skip to page content
Wage and Hour Division
Bookmark and Share

Wage and Hour Division (WHD)

Printer-Friendly Version

Press Releases

U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
Release Number: 12-1021-DAL


July 19, 2012


Elizabeth Todd, Juan Rodriguez


972-850-4710, 972-850-4709

38 underwater divers in Crosby, Texas, receive more than $117,000 in overtime back wages following US Labor Department investigation

CROSBY, Texas -- Central States Underwater Inc., doing business as CSU Gulf Coast Inland & Offshore Diving Services in Crosby, has paid $117,157 to 38 current and former divers following an investigation by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division that found violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act’s overtime provisions.

“All employees should be properly compensated for all hours worked, including an overtime premium for those hours over 40 in a week,” said Cynthia Watson, regional administrator for the Wage and Hour Division in the Southwest. “Employees worked as many as 70 hours in a week without overtime compensation. This practice is illegal and unacceptable.”

An investigation by the division’s Houston District Office found that the employer paid workers overtime after working more than eight hours in a workday rather than paying them time and one-half for all hours worked over 40 in a week as required by the FLSA, resulting in some overtime hours not being compensated. Investigators also found that the company failed to provide overtime compensation for time spent working inside a shop as well as time spent traveling in a company vehicle to and from dive sites.

CSU Gulf Coast Inland & Offshore Diving Services, which specializes in underwater pipeline inspection, maintenance and repair, has agreed to fully comply with the FLSA in the future. The back wages owed have been paid in full.

The FLSA requires that covered employees be paid at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 for all hours worked, plus time and one-half their regular rates, including commissions, bonuses and incentive pay, for hours worked beyond 40 per week. Employers are also required to maintain accurate time and payroll records.

For more information about the FLSA and other federal wage laws, call the Wage and Hour Division’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243) or the division’s Houston office at 713-339-5500. Information also is available at


U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit