Wage and Hour Division (WHD)
U.S. Department of Labor
Permian Basin Community Centers agrees to pay nearly $69,000 in overtime back wages following US Labor Department investigation
Violations found in Alpine, Midland, Odessa, Fort Stockton, Presidio and Van Horn, Texas
ODESSA, Texas -- Permian Basin Community Centers for Mental Health and Mental Retardation, doing business as PBCC, has agreed to pay $68,990 in overtime back wages to 78 employees after an investigation by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division found overtime violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act at 12 of the company’s facilities in Alpine, Fort Stockton, Midland, Odessa, Presidion and Van Horn, Texas.
“This company wrongly classified employees as exempt from overtime requirements to avoid paying them the wages they had earned,” said Cynthia Watson, regional administrator for the Wage and Hour Division in the Southwest. “The Labor Department is committed to protecting the rights of all employees. Other employers violating the FLSA in this manner should take note and ensure that those employees who earn overtime receive it.”
An investigation by the division’s Albuquerque District Office, based in New Mexico, found that the company incorrectly classified intake specialists, early intervention specialists and rehab providers, among others, as exempt from the FLSA’s overtime compensation requirements for professional workers.
The facilities where violations were found include the Early Childhood Intervention Center, Mental Health Services/Adult Day Care and Turning Point Treatment Center, all in Odessa, facilities on East Illinois, North Carter and East Front in Midland, and those located in the cities of Alpine, Fort Stockton, Presidio and Van Horn.
Section 13(a)(1) of the FLSA provides an exemption from both minimum wage and overtime pay for employees employed as bona fide executive, administrative, professional and outside sales employees. To qualify for the learned professional exemption, members of the medical profession – such as pharmacists, nurses, therapists and social workers – generally must meet certain tests regarding their job duties and be paid on a salary basis at not less than $455 per week. For additional information on overtime exemptions, visit http://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/fairpay/fs17a_overview.htm.
The FLSA requires that covered, nonexempt employees be paid at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 for all hours worked, plus time and one-half their regular rates, including commissions, bonuses and incentive pay, for hours worked beyond 40 per week. Additionally, employers must maintain accurate time and payroll records.
For more information about federal wage laws, call the Wage and Hour Division’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243) or its Albuquerque office at 505-248-6100. Information also is available at http://www.dol.gov/whd.
U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at www.dol.gov. The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit www.dol.gov/compliance.