Wage and Hour Division (WHD)
U.S. Department of Labor
Bethany, Okla.-based auto care company to pay more than $47,000 in overtime back wages to 40 employees following Labor Department investigation
Workers underpaid in Edmond, Oklahoma City and Tulsa, Okla.
BETHANY, Okla. -- Bethany, Okla.-based Precision Tune Auto Care Inc. has agreed to pay $47,469 in overtime back wages to 40 current and former automotive technicians following an investigation by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division that found violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act.
The Wage and Hour Division’s Oklahoma City District Office found that the company inappropriately classified employees as exempt from overtime and paid them a salary for all hours worked, which did not include additional compensation for hours worked over 40 in a week. On many occasions, workers were required to work more than 50 hours per week.
The violations occurred at the following service shops: Edmond Tune Inc. in Edmond; Meridian Tune Inc. in Oklahoma City; and Memorial Tune Inc. and Mingo Tune Inc., both in Tulsa. The company provides automobile engine tuneups and repairs.
“The misapplication of exemptions under the Fair Labor Standards Act is one of the many ways vulnerable workers get cheated of their hard-earned money,” said Cynthia Watson, regional administrator for the division in the Southwest. “This practice is unacceptable, and the Labor Department will not tolerate companies exploiting their employees. I am pleased that, as a result of the investigation conducted by the Wage and Hour Division, these workers will be appropriately compensated.”
The company has agreed to payment of the back wages, which is ongoing, as well as future compliance with the FLSA.
The FLSA requires that covered employees be paid at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 for all hours worked, plus time and one-half their regular rates of pay, including commissions, bonuses and incentive pay, for hours worked beyond 40 per week. Employers also are required to maintain accurate time and payroll records.
For more information about the FLSA and other federal wage laws, call the Wage and Hour Division’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243) or its Oklahoma City office at 405 231-4158. Information also is available on the Internet at http://www.dol.gov/whd.
U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at www.dol.gov. The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit www.dol.gov/compliance.