Skip to page content
Wage and Hour Division
Bookmark and Share

Wage and Hour Division (WHD)

Printer-Friendly Version

Press Releases

U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
Release Number: 11-378-DAL

Date: 

May 3, 2011

Contact: 

Elizabeth Todd - Juan Rodriguez

Phone: 

972-850-4710 - 972-850-4709

Aguado Stone in Georgetown, Texas, agrees to pay 108 employees more than $193,000 in back wages following US Labor Department investigation


GEORGETOWN, Texas -- Georgetown-based Aguado Stone Inc. has agreed to pay $193,554 in overtime back wages to 108 current and former quarry workers, following an investigation by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division that found violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act.

“This case represents yet another example of how the Labor Department is helping those workers who are most vulnerable,” said Cynthia Watson, regional administrator for the Wage and Hour Division in the Southwest. “Aguado Stone failed to pay proper overtime compensation to its employees, many of whom do not speak English and who were working up to 100 hours in a week. That practice is illegal, and we will not tolerate it.”

Numerous interviews conducted by bilingual investigators from the Wage and Hour Division’s San Antonio District Office determined that the company had failed to pay employees time and one-half their regular rates of pay for hours worked over 40 in a week, and to maintain accurate time and pay records.

Aguado Stone operates a natural stone quarry and is a leading stone supplier in central Texas. The company cooperated with the investigation. Payment of back wages is ongoing, and Aguado Stone has agreed to comply with the FLSA in the future.

The FLSA requires that covered employees be paid at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour for all hours worked, plus time and one-half their regular rates of pay, including commissions, bonuses and incentive pay, for hours worked beyond 40 per week. Employers must also maintain accurate time and payroll records.

For more information about the FLSA and other federal wage laws, call the Wage and Hour Division’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243) or the division’s San Antonio office at 210-308-4515. Information is also available on the Internet at http://www.dol.gov/whd.

###


U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at www.dol.gov. The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit www.dol.gov/compliance.