Wage and Hour Division (WHD)
U.S. Department of Labor
US Labor Department recovers nearly $190,000 in back wages for 57 employees of Tulsa, Okla.-based MESA Products
Employees in Oklahoma, Texas, Ohio, California, Florida affected
TULSA, Okla. -- The U.S. Department of Labor has recovered nearly $190,000 in back wages for 57 foremen, technicians, field assistants and inside sales representatives of MESA Products Inc. after an investigation found these employees had been incorrectly identified as exempt from the Fair Labor Standards Act and consequently denied fair compensation for all hours of their work.
The investigation covered workers located in Tulsa, Okla.; Houston and Fort Worth, Texas; Wapakoneta, Ohio; Huntington Beach, Calif.; and Tallahassee, Fla. MESA Products is a leading supplier of materials and engineering and installation services used to prevent corrosion in pipelines, tanks and refinery equipment.
“The Labor Department is committed to ensuring that employees receive full pay for all hours worked,” said Cynthia Watson, the Wage and Hour Division’s southwest regional administrator. “MESA Products required its employees to work long hours without paying them proper overtime compensation. The resolution of this case demonstrates the Wage and Hour Division’s commitment to pursuing those who violate the law and deprive workers of their hard earned wages.”
An investigation conducted by the Wage and Hour Division’s Tulsa Area Office determined that the company had incorrectly classified the employees. These workers received a fixed, biweekly salary. They either were paid straight time for hours worked above 40 in a workweek or were given extra paid time off, rather than time and one-half their regular rates of pay for the overtime hours, as required by the FLSA.
After conducting employee interviews and reviewing time and payroll records, investigators determined that MESA Products owes a total of $189,790 in overtime back wages. The company has agreed to pay the full amount, and to properly classify its employees and compensate them for all hours worked in the future.
In addition to overtime compensation guidelines, the FLSA requires that covered employees be paid at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 for all hours worked. Employers must also maintain accurate time and payroll records.
For more information about federal wage laws administered by the Wage and Hour Division, call the agency’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243), its area office in Tulsa at 918-581-6303 or its district office in Oklahoma City at 405-231-4328. Information is also available at http://www.dol.gov/whd.
U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at www.dol.gov. The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit www.dol.gov/compliance.