Wage and Hour Division (WHD)
U.S. Department of Labor
US Labor Department launches concentrated law enforcement effort in low- wage industries in Albuquerque, NM, Midland, Odessa and El Paso, Texas, areas
ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. -- The U.S. Department of Labor today announced that it will launch a concentrated enforcement effort in low-wage industries throughout Albuquerque and the Midland, Odessa and El Paso, Texas, areas to combat violations of federal minimum wage, overtime pay and child labor regulations.
“This enforcement effort will focus on industries that employ primarily youth and low-wage workers as identified by the department’s Wage and Hour Division,” said Patricia Davidson, that agency’s district director in Albuquerque. “We hope to use the results of this initiative to develop future strategies toward increasing compliance levels, and securing the wages and overtime employees have rightfully earned.”
The Wage and Hour Division plans to conduct investigations at workplaces including but not limited to restaurants, janitorial businesses, construction companies and child care establishments to bring employers into compliance with the Fair Labor Standards Act and ensure back wages are paid to workers where they are found due. If businesses are found in violation of labor laws, they could be subject to fines.
The FLSA requires that employers pay covered workers at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour for all hours worked and one and one-half times their regular rates of pay for hours worked over 40 in a week, unless otherwise exempt. Employers also must maintain accurate time and payroll records.
Child labor provisions of the FLSA are designed to protect workers by limiting the types of jobs and the number of hours they may work. Children under 14 years of age may not be employed in non-agricultural occupations covered by the FLSA. Those 14 and 15 years of age may be employed outside of school hours in a variety of non-manufacturing and non-hazardous jobs for limited periods of time and under specified conditions. Sixteen- and 17-year-olds may be employed for unlimited hours in any occupation other than those declared hazardous by the secretary of labor.
For more information about the FLSA, call the Department of Labor’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243) or the Wage and Hour Division’s district office in Albuquerque at 505-248-6800. Information is also available on the Internet at http://www.dol.gov/whd.
U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at www.dol.gov. The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit www.dol.gov/compliance.