Wage and Hour Division (WHD)
U.S. Department of Labor
US Department of Labor ongoing initiative cites 5 retail establishments in South Florida for child labor violations
MIAMI -- Five retail establishments in South Florida are being cited for violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) following investigations by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division.
Athlete’s Foot (Pembroke Pines), Wet Seal (Boynton Beach) and Chick-fil-A (Boynton Beach Mall) are being cited for employing minors in hazardous occupations including operating power-driven trash compactors and power-driven food slicers and processors. The three retailers have been assessed penalties totaling $10,518.
Two establishments in Miami – Banna Strow’s (Dadeland Mall) and Miami International Mall Dental – have agreed to pay a total of $2,970 in back wages to minor employees for failing to properly compensate them for overtime earned when they worked more than 40 hours in a workweek.
These investigations are part of the Wage and Hour Division’s Miami District Office’s ongoing initiative to protect the rights and safety of minors in South Florida. Similar investigations in 2008 found seven South Florida employers in violation of the child labor provisions.
“While we encourage teenage employment, the Wage and Hour Division plans to continue this enforcement program to ensure that young people’s work experiences are safe and in compliance with federal law,” said Will Garnitz, the division’s district director in Miami.
The FLSA prohibits the employment of people under the age of 18 years in any nonagricultural occupations that the Labor Department has declared to be hazardous. There are 17 hazardous occupation orders that detail the dangerous tasks prohibited for workers under 18. Covered employees must be paid at least the federal minimum wage for all hours worked, and time and one-half their regular rates of pay for hours worked over 40 per week. Employers must also maintain accurate time and payroll records. Effective July 24, 2009, the federal minimum wage for covered, nonexempt employees is $7.25 per hour.
For more information about the FLSA and other laws enforced by the Wage and Hour Division, call the department’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243); or contact the Miami District Office of the Wage and Hour Division, 10300 Sunset Drive (Sunset Center), Room 255; phone 305-596-9874. Information on youth employment rules is available at http://www.youthrules.dol.gov.
U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at www.dol.gov. The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit www.dol.gov/compliance.