Skip to page content
Wage and Hour Division
Bookmark and Share

Wage and Hour Division (WHD)

Printer-Friendly Version

Press Releases

U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
Release Number: 09-1525-ATL (058)


Jan. 21, 2010


Michael D’Aquino, Michael Wald


404-562-2076, 404-562-2078

US Department of Labor cites 2 retail establishments in Northpark Mall, Ridgeland, Miss., for child labor violations

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The U.S. Department of Labor has cited United Artists Northpark Stadium 14 and The Cookie Store for violating the child labor provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).

The violations were uncovered when investigators from the department’s Wage and Hour Division visited 23 establishments at Northpark Mall in Ridgeland, Miss., as part of the department’s ongoing initiative to protect the rights and safety of minors in Mississippi. The companies have been assessed penalties totaling $3,135.

“The Wage and Hour Division plans to continue this enforcement program to ensure that young workers’ activities are safe and in compliance with federal law,” said Ken Stripling, the division’s district director for Alabama and Mississippi.

Both establishments were cited for allowing underage workers to operate power-driven paper product machines, including scrap paper balers and paper box compactors. In addition, The Cookie Store failed to display a minimum wage poster as required by the FLSA.

The statute prohibits the employment of people under the age of 18 years in any nonagricultural occupations that the Labor Department has declared to be hazardous. Hazardous Occupations Order Number 12 prohibits individuals less than 18 years of age from loading, operating and unloading certain power-driven paper processing machines, including scrap paper balers, paper box compactors, guillotine paper cutters or shears, platen printing presses and envelope die-cutting presses. Minors may not work more than three hours on school days, eight hours on nonschool days, 18 hours in school weeks or 40 hours during nonschool weeks. The regulations detail that 14- and 15-year-olds may work during non-school hours, but no later than 7 p.m. (9 p.m. from June 1 until Labor Day).

For more information about the FLSA, youth employment, and the jobs younger workers may perform and the hours they may work, call the Wage and Hour Division’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243). Information is also available on the Internet at


U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit