Wage and Hour Division (WHD)
U.S. Department of Labor
New Jersey gasoline station owner agrees to pay nearly $60,000 in back wages after US Labor Department investigation
STATEN ISLAND, N.Y. -- Natha Singh, owner of four gasoline corporations that operate 12 gasoline stations located throughout New Jersey, has agreed to pay $57,389.48 in back wages to 32 workers after a U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division investigation identified violations of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) at all 12 locations.
The investigation, conducted as part of the division’s ongoing gas station enforcement initiative, found that Singh paid employees straight time for hours worked in excess of 40 per week and did not maintain proper recordkeeping.
“It is important for employers to fully understand their obligations under the law to ensure all employees are compensated properly,” said Joseph Petrecca, director of the Wage and Hour Division’s Northern New Jersey District Office.
Nanak Oil Inc. operates gas stations in Clifton, Elizabeth and Passaic, N.J.; Paul Mart Inc. operates gas stations in Wallington (two locations), Secaucus and Irvington, N.J.; Metro Petro Inc. operates gas stations in Belleville, Passaic and West Milford, N.J.; and Route 28 Inc. operates gas stations in Middlesex and Midland, N.J.
Over the past three years, the Wage and Hour Division’s Northern New Jersey District Office has conducted 52 investigations as part of its gas station enforcement initiative, resulting in $443,198.36 in back wages recovered for 185 mostly low-wage workers.
The FLSA requires that covered employees be paid at least the federal minimum wage as well as one and one-half times their regular rates of pay for hours worked over 40 per week. Earnings may be determined on a piece-rate, hourly, salary, commission or some other basis, but in all such cases the employee must receive the federal minimum wage for all hours worked. Additionally, the law requires that accurate records of employees’ wages, hours and other conditions of employment be maintained. The current federal minimum wage for covered, nonexempt employees is $7.25 per hour.
For more information about the FLSA’s requirements, call the Wage and Hour Division’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243) or visit http://www.dol.gov/whd. The division’s Northern New Jersey office can be reached at 908-317-8611.
U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at www.dol.gov. The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit www.dol.gov/compliance.