Skip to page content
Wage and Hour Division
Bookmark and Share

Wage and Hour Division (WHD)

Printer-Friendly Version

Press Releases

U.S. Department of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
Release Number: 09-886-NEW (wh 09-160)

Date: 

Aug. 4, 2009

Contact: 

Leni Fortson

Phone: 

215-861-5102

Landisville, N.J., company to pay more than $50,000 in back wages and penalties after U.S. Labor Department investigation


LANDISVILLE, N.J. -- Tri-County Staffing Corp. (T.C.S.) will pay $28,446 in back wages to 61 workers after a U.S. Labor Department investigation exposed overtime and recordkeeping violations. The company was also assessed a civil money penalty of $22,814.

The investigation, conducted by the department’s Wage and Hour Division found that the company paid the employees straight time for hours worked in excess of 40 per week and did not maintain the proper payroll records in violation of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).

“It is important for employers to fully understand their obligations under the law to ensure all employees are compensated properly,” said Patrick Reilly, director of the Wage and Hour Division’s Southern New Jersey District Office.

The Landisville, N.J., temporary agency supplies hourly employees to companies operating in Camden, Cumberland, Gloucester and Cape May counties.

The FLSA requires that covered employees be paid at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 for all hours worked, plus time and one-half their regular rates of pay, including commissions, bonuses and incentive pay, for hours worked beyond 40 per week. The FLSA provides an exemption from both minimum wage and overtime pay for bona fide executive, administrative, professional and outside sales employees. To qualify for exemption, employees generally must meet certain job duty and salary tests. Information about the current exemption can be found at www.dol.gov/fairpay.

Information about the FLSA’s requirements may be obtained by calling the Department of Labor’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243). Information is also available at www.wagehour.dol.gov. The Wage and Hour Division’s Southern New Jersey District Office can be reached at 609-538-8310.

###


U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at www.dol.gov. The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit www.dol.gov/compliance.