Wage and Hour Division (WHD)
U.S. Department of Labor
U.S. Labor Department cites Hy-Vee Inc. of West Des Moines, Iowa, for multiple child labor violations at 4 stores in Nebraska
Investigation conducted as part of department’s Nebraska grocery stores initiative
OMAHA, Neb. -- Hy-Vee Inc., a grocery store chain based in West Des Moines, Iowa, has paid $32,670 in civil money penalties following a U.S. Department of Labor Wage and Hour Division investigation that found multiple child labor violations at four of the company’s Nebraska stores.
The penalties resulted from an investigation carried out as part of the division’s Des Moines District Office’s ongoing efforts to increase compliance with the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) in Nebraska grocery stores.
In all, the investigations found 37 violations of the hours-time standards of the FLSA as well as six violations of the Labor Department’s hazardous orders regulations.
“In response to these violations, Hy-Vee has taken corrective action to ensure future compliance,” said Percella Maupins, the Wage and Hour Division’s district director in Des Moines. “The company provided its management team with the investigation findings and emphasized FLSA responsibilities with store directors. Furthermore, following a new store opening, the company provided training to more than 400 store employees, including minors, on child labor rules.”
The Labor Department will assist the company in providing FLSA training via webinars to its management team.
“While companies have taken great strides to ensure compliance, more work still needs to be done to increase compliance among all Nebraska grocers,” said Maupins. “The Wage and Hour Division will continue to offer voluntary, face-to-face consultations with employers. We’ll continue to provide compliance assistance to industry associations to help increase employer knowledge of FLSA requirements. Similar efforts in other states have increased FLSA compliance significantly.”
The FLSA requires covered, nonexempt employees to be paid at least the federal minimum wage of $6.55 per hour for all hours worked, and time and one-half their regular rates of pay for hours worked beyond 40 in a week. Employers must also maintain accurate time and payroll records. For more information about the FLSA, call the Department of Labor’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243). Information is also available on the Internet at www.wagehour.dol.gov.
U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at www.dol.gov. The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit www.dol.gov/compliance.