Wage and Hour Division (WHD)
U.S. Department of Labor
DETROIT -- High schools and junior high schools in Michigan will receive valuable information this week from the U.S. Department of Labor about state and federal work rules designed to keep teens safe at work and productive at school.
“Every year, young workers are injured while performing prohibited work,” said James Smith, director of the department’s Wage and Hour Division Detroit District Office. “Our goal is to foster safer workplaces and prevent injuries by ensuring that school officials, students and employers are aware of the laws that protect young workers.”
The Wage and Hour Division in Detroit is mailing YouthRules! information to 1,100 high schools and junior high schools for use by school principals and staff who issue work permits. Work permits are generally required by state law before a young worker can be employed in Michigan.
Federal provisions restrict the number of hours persons under 16 years of age are allowed to work and the times during which they can be employed. Minors may not work more than three hours on school days, eight hours on nonschool days, 18 hours in school weeks or 40 hours during nonschool weeks. The regulations detail that 14- and 15-year-olds may work during non-school hours, but no later than 7 p.m. (9 p.m. from June 1 until Labor Day).
“The intent of the hours limitations is to give our teens their best shot at preparing for their futures. They accomplish that by first doing well in school and then balancing school with safe and appropriate work experiences,” Smith added.
YouthRules! is a public awareness campaign designed to bring teens, parents, educators and employers together to promote safe and rewarding work experiences for young workers. The department created a Web site and developed partnerships with state and federal government agencies, employer groups, trade associations and advocacy groups to promote this initiative.
For more information on youth employment laws, visit the Labor Department’s YouthRules! Web site at http://www.youthrules.dol.gov or call the Wage and Hour Division’s toll-free helpline at 866-4US-WAGE (487-9243).
U.S. Department of Labor releases are accessible on the Internet at www.dol.gov. The information in this news release will be made available in alternate format (large print, Braille, audio tape or disc) from the COAST office upon request. Please specify which news release when placing your request at (202) 693-7828 or TTY (202) 693-7755. The Labor Department is committed to providing America’s employers and employees with easy access to understandable information on how to comply with its laws and regulations. For more information, please visit www.dol.gov/compliance.