Skip to page content
Wage and Hour Division
Bookmark and Share

Wage and Hour Division (WHD)

Archived News Release — Caution: Information may be out of date.

ESA-WHD New Release: [04/16/1997]
Contact Name:
Brad Mitchell or Juan Solano
Phone Number: (312) 353-6976
Release Number: V-103

DETROIT AREA BOSTON MARKETS PAYS $17,000 CIVIL MONEY PENALTY FOR ALLEGED CHILD LABOR VIOLATIONS

Chicago — Michigan Elite Teens Inc. and L.N.L. Inc., 481 S. Wildwood, Westland, Mich., have agreed to pay a civil money penalty of $12,500 for child labor violations in an order entered by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Office of Administrative Law Judges.

In separate related legal proceedings, the firms agreed to a consent judgment filed in U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Michigan, Southern Division, Detroit. The Labor Department alleged that 63 children, age 11 through 15, worked more hours than permitted by federal regulations or were below the legal age for employment. The firms also allegedly transported minors in vans as part of their work in violation of child labor laws. The judgment enjoins the firms from future violations of the child labor and record keeping provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).

Nine of the 63 minors were 11 through 13 years old. Minors under age 14 are not permitted to work in nonagricultural occupations.

The Labor Department’s investigation also found record keeping violations. Employers are required to have a date of birth for all employees under 19 years of age.

The two firms were engaged in door-to-door sale of candy. The violations occurred from July 1991 to July 1993.

Wage and Hour Acting District Director Donald Laurent, Grand Rapids, said, "This legal action reflects our commitment to protect vulnerable populations and deter violations by assessing significant penalties."

The Wage and Hour Division of the Labor Department's Employment Standards Administration enforces federal child labor laws. The regulations detail hours that minors under 16 years of age may work. In addition, the regulations specify hazardous occupations prohibited for minors under 18. Employers who violate the child labor provisions may be assessed up to $10,000 for each violation.

Under federal law, 14 and 15-year-olds may work outside school hours, but not later than 7:00 p.m. (9:00 p.m. from June 1 until Labor Day). In addition, they may work up to three hours on school days and 18 hours in a school week. Minors may work eight hours on non-school days and 40 hours during non-school weeks.

The legal actions follow an investigation conducted by the Wage and Hour District Office, 2920 Fuller N.E., Grand Rapids, Mich.

Civil Action: 97-70812 Ofc. Of Admin. Law Judges: 96-CLA-20

 

Archived News Release — Caution: Information may be out of date.